Hey! I see you! Please take two seconds to sign up! We'd love to have you as a member of our Kia Stinger club. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain... :)

3.3TT Thermal R&D Catback

Discussion in 'Engine, Drivetrain, and Exhaust Discussion' started by Kamauxx, May 1, 2018.

1. Kamauxx

Kamauxx United States 1000 Posts Club!

I installed the Thermal R&D Catback today.

The Bad:
    The fit of the mid-pipe was not spot on. It took me over an hour to get it onto the bolts on the cats.

There is a whistle which I assume is an exhaust leak. I think that might be the noise we hear in Thermal's video when the revs come down, which is also the only time I hear it. (I'm new to TT cars, could this be increased noise coming from the turbos?) Interestingly I just went out and drove the car again and I didn't hear the whistling at all.

It's heavier than the stock exhaust. The weight of the stock catback is 56.8lbs. the weight of Thermal's catback is 61.4lbs.

It's impossible to get an accurate depiction of the sound. I tried my Sony A6000 and my cell phone and the results were equally shitty. I have new respect for people who make good audio quality exhaust videos.

The Good:
    I absolutely didn't want a loud exhaust. I wanted to free up any restrictions in the stock catback to make my go fast foot happier. The sound is (I'd guess) only 10% louder than stock. It now has a really deep note that almost sounds like it's coming from a sub-woofer. The deep note is there from low RPMs and gets more "screamy" in the higher ranges. It's amazing!

I made a video going from 50-55-60-65-70mph, letting cruise regulate the RPMs between each increase. There is no drone! None! Zero! When the car gets up to speed and the driver or cruise control settles in there is no noticeable sound from the exhaust.