Hey! I see you! Please take two seconds to sign up! We'd love to have you as a member of our Kia Stinger club. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain... :)

Please help a novice

Discussion in 'Kia Stinger Detailing Discussion' started by NickUK, Oct 3, 2018.

1. NickUK

NickUK United Kingdom Member

Hi All,

I’ve never really looked after a car in the sense of only washing it by ‘no touch’ washing and never waxed, polished or any other detailing methods before.

The Stinger is the first ‘nice’ car that I’ve owned and I’ve become more aware of these methods of looking after the vehicle but having researched this online, there seem to be so many methods and so many products that are needed and it’s all quite confusing for a complete novice such as myself as to correct procedures, in what order they need to be done and which ones are necessary.

What I am hoping from this thread is that someone with experience can explain in relatively simple terms what I need to do in order to keep my Stinger looking great.

From what I can gather, to wash a car properly and reduce the risk of marking the vehicle, you need to follow the below steps:

1) Rinse the vehicle using a pressure washer on a medium or car setting

2) Use a snow foam soap to cover the car by using the pressure washer with a foam cannon and leave it for 5-10 minutes

3) Rinse off the snow foam soap using the pressure washer

4) Dry using a car air blower dryer

Can someone confirm that this is correct or am I missing something?

I’ve also read that you should polish and wax your car. Can someone explain what the difference is between polishing and waxing and how often one should polish and wax their car? Also, what equipment is needed for both and what methods should be employed to carry out the procedures?