Hey! I see you! Please take two seconds to sign up! We'd love to have you as a member of our Kia Stinger club. You have nothing to lose and so much to gain... :)

High Trade-in value for a lease

Discussion in 'How to Buy a Kia Stinger' started by SilverNitr8, Aug 3, 2018.

1. SilverNitr8

SilverNitr8 United States Active Member

Hi All,

I wanted to take advantage of the lease cash offer and do a lease buyout. I do have a trade-in vehicle worth 16k. Will this cause me some problems or is it better to do the lease without any trade-in? I'm new to the leasing world so any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. NS_Stinger

NS_Stinger Canada Active Member

I don't think the trade-in will really matter it would just be applied as if you were doing a down payment on the lease. What I will say is that you're likely to get low-balled on the trade. If you don't need to trade the car and plan to buy out the lease directly afterward you might want to explore selling your car privately if you have the time. One thing you also need to consider is the tax savings on the trade, for example if they offer you 10k for it you actually save 10k plus the taxes it will save you on the purchase price. Lots of variables here.

• Like Like x 1
  3. NYLAWBIZ

NYLAWBIZ United States Stinger Enthusiast

buying a car is really three business deal negotiations: (1) negotiating the best sales price for your old car; (2) negotiating a purchase price [cap cost for lease] on your new car; and (3) negotiating the financing terms, whether it is a lease or a loan. Treat it as three separate transactions. Dealerships like to mix the three deals together in some sort of bargaining swirl, making it extremely difficult for the typical car purchaser to know whats going on. Never buy a car based only on the monthly carrying cost.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. SilverNitr8